Department of Political Science students are encouraged to apply for national and international scholarships, some of which are provided on the Office of University Scholarships website.

In addition, the Department of Political Science has several departmental scholarship opportunities available due to the generosity of donors, alumni and friends of the department.

It is our pleasure to be able to award these academic scholarships to our best students. Due to fluctuations in the value of the foundation accounts, we are not able to award each scholarship each year. An announcement will be made of the scholarships likely to be available for the next year in (mid-December to mid-January, depending on notification) with application deadlines mid-February.

John East Scholarship Award

The scholarship is established in memory of former ECU Political Science Professor and Senator John East. Senator East is the only professor at East Carolina University to serve in the U.S. Senate. The Scholarship is awarded to upper level undergraduate political science majors. Criteria include:

  1. Resident of North Carolina, especially candidates from eastern North Carolina.
  2. Academic merit-at least 3.0 projected or actual GPA at East Carolina University.
  3. Demonstrated interest in public service and/or potential to be elected to public office.
  4. Demonstrated good character; Demonstrated leadership abilities.

Tinsley E. Yarbrough Scholarship

Established by Mary Frances Morris in 2002 in honor of Distinguished Professor Tinsley E. Yarbrough. The scholarship is for Academic merit (at least a 3.5 overall grade point average) for a rising senior.

Gomes Scholarship

This scholarship is in honor of Douglas L. Gomes’ parents, Colonel Louis A. and Mrs. Trudy Gomes. The purpose of this scholarship is to provide support to Political Science undergraduate students who have demonstrated leadership and/or high academic performance in the classroom.

Hans Indorf Memorial Scholarship

Scholarship support to deserving full-time undergraduate Political Science students who have demonstrated interest in international relations or comparative politics.

Gravely Foundation Scholarship

Established in 1983; The scholarship is awarded to an upper level Political Science major with an overall GPA of 3.00 or better, and will usually be awarded to a student who is participating in the Political Science Honors Program.

Mitchell L. Hunt Scholarship

Established Fall 1996, by Mitchell L. Hunt, an ECU political science alumnus. The scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior undergraduate student who is enrolled full time in the Department of Political Science at ECU. It is based on academic merit.

Carlton/Troutman Scholarship

Established in 1991 in honor of Mr. Herbert R. Carlton and Dr. William F. Troutman, Jr. Mr. Carlton was an Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science and Director of Undergraduate Studies for the department. Dr. William F. Troutman, Jr. served the department as Professor and Chair. Awarded to an outstanding declared major in the fall of their Junior year. Must have a GPA of 3.0, with nine hours of political science.